Senior Fuel Subsidy Program

The Senior Fuel Subsidy is a program that helps to offset the high cost of heating fuel for indigenous Metis seniors who do not receive Government subsidies for a home they own or rent and live in.

A fuel subsidy may be given to those who already receive subsidies upon review on a case-by-case basis.

A one-time subsidy of up to $1,000.00 will be given to eligible seniors towards heating. *This subsidy includes wood, heating oil, propane used for heating, electric heat and or wood pellets

Electric heat would require a hardwired heating source, plug in type heaters would not be considered a heat source for this program.

Payments for this program begin in March, and receipts should be from April 1st of the year of the program until March 31 of the following year, I.e. April 1, 2023, to March 31, 2024

Note * A receipt with your name spouse or partner must be provided for any of the heating methods named above. *


To be eligible for this subsidy, applicants must:

  • Permanently reside in NWT
  • Be an indigenous Metis member belonging to the Fort Smith, Hay River or Fort Resolution Metis Government
  • Be 55 years of age or older
  • Own, live in, rent and pay for heating in the home for which the subsidy is being requested.

The following documents will be required to complete the assessment:

  • Completed application form.
  • Photo identification with birth date.
  • Required payment receipts for heating.

Please submit your application to:

More Posts

Northwest Territory Métis Nation Logo

Fuel Subsidy Program Announcement

The deadline to apply for the Senior Fuel Subsidy Program is March 31st, 2024. A one-time subsidy of up to $1,000.00 will be given to eligible seniors towards heating. *This

Meeting with the Prime Minister

Our meeting with the Prime Minister on October 11th was a long time coming. It was important for him to hear, first-hand, our Métis issues and perspectives. We raised important

Skip to content