Eighth annual NWT Anti-Poverty Roundtable

On May 5, 2022, the NWT Metis Nation participated in the eighth annual NWT Anti-Poverty Roundtable with a focus on increasing safe and affordable housing, including for underhoused residents.

This current Fiscal Year (April 2022 to March 2023) will see the NWT Métis Nation introducing our Homeownership Assistance and Home Repair Programs. These programs are designed to provide financial assistance to our Beneficiaries. Official rollout of these programs will be broadly announced once the “final preparations” on the programs are complete.

Attention is also being focused on creating a program that will allow our “Elders to age in place” which is saying “allowing our Elders to remain in their own homes.” This program will be designed to address issues faced by our Elders involving mobility, maintenance, and repair in their homes. Once this program is ready, we will make abroad announcement.

Through further funding assistance from the Government of Canada we are hoping to also make progress in addressing issues involving vulnerable populations in our communities. These discussions will be taking place in the months ahead at the community level, stay tuned for opportunities to have your input.

More Posts

Health Legislation Consultation Meetings

The Northwest Territory Métis Nation, Indigenous Services Canada, and the North Slave Métis Alliance are working together on co-developing health legislations options. We are planning on having the below community

Housing Program: Loan Amount Increase

The Home Purchase and Home Repair Programs provide opportunities to Northwest Territory Métis Nation Beneficiaries living in the NWT to become home owners or repair their existing homes by providing

Skip to content