The Northwest Territory Métis Nation is comprised of the indigenous Métis originally from the South Slave in the Northwest Territories.

The membership is politically represented by the Fort Resolution Métis Council, the Fort Smith Métis Council, and the Hay River Métis Government Council.

The northern Métis Nation had set its roots deep in the cracks of the Precambrian granite long before Canada became a nation.